Maleficent!

14138970115_0330513afa_z
‘Don’t believe the fairy tale!’

I have always been a girly girl since a young age and trying on high heels in shops, putting on too much red lipstick and braiding my hair was brilliant!

I grew up watching Disney princesses being saved by a handsome prince, longing that one day I would find my happy ending and live in a giant castle too, obviously. I remember that Cinderella was one of my favourites and that Sleeping Beauty was the one where I laughed, cried, danced along with and hid behind the sofa when the eve fairy first mad her appearance!

Growing up watching this film, where good triumphed over bad, where the princess woke up and all was good in the kingdom again, I didn’t know any different, until I heard about this film.

I have never been a big fan of Angelina Jolie, but if anything was going to sway me it was this film, and I can now say that I actually liked her in this one and will be more inclined to watch others.

Maleficent reminded me so much of Elphaba from Wicked, who eventually turned into the Wicked Witch of the West in The Wizard of Oz. Both these characters are strong and independent women who fall for a man they can never be with, and are completely misunderstood until you know the real story.

Told from the ‘evil’ fairy’s point of view, we follow a young, friendly Maleficent growing up in a colourful and exciting world, until she falls for a human boy and things start going a bit wrong.

At an only an hour and a half, this film doesn’t drag or dwell too much on the plot itself. We see the story through different eyes, leaving us to question the fairytale version we all watched over and over again as children.

The costumes and graphics were as colourful and in your face as you’d expect them to be, but from the start the true story reels keeping your eyes peeled to the screen right from the beginning.

Maleficent’s loving side is brought out, as she stays close to princess Aurora or ‘Sleeping beauty’ as we know her, from the moment she is born, watching and caring for her, like a ‘fairy godmother’ as she is called.

What i especially liked was the way the meaning of ‘true love’ was portrayed in an unexpected yet welcoming way for a fairy tale!

If you haven’t seen, I urge you to! Learn the truth about this fairytale..

Leave a Reply

