Life as a Berliner: Frogs, Films and Friends! 2012

Froschkönig is a Literature and Piano bar hidden away in the backstreets of Berlin. It has become a weekly event for most of us, as every Wednesday they show an old black and white silent film with  a live pianist playing along with the film!

I didn’t know what to expect when I first went, as I had never seen a silent film before, and did not know what to expect. Its only a small bar, but its cosy, especially if you go with friends a little earlier to grab the comfy sofas!

 I wasn’t expect it to be as packed as it was, and it can be tricky to find a seat, but the crowd is nice and the staff are friendly and make you feel at ease.

The first time we went there, the only thing that put me off was how many people smoked, and seen as it is only a small place, the smoke was lingering and it started getting on my nerves.

I dont have a problem with smokers and I realise that you can smoke almost anywhere in this city, I just dont like it when smokers dont seem to think about non smokers who have a problem with it being blown in our faces!

The second time we went, only a few people were smoking and we were sat close to the front so it did not bother me as much and I could enjoy the film!

“The Navigator” was playing the secodn week we went, and we all really enjoyed it. Its an old black and white comedy starring the infamous Buster Keaton! The story was simple but funny and light hearted, and we all left in such a good mood!

The piano is a great touch, and the melody always goes so well with the film, and I am always impressed that the pianist can play for over an hour without any sheet music! Its a great (and cheap) way to spend a Wednesday evening, as there is no fee, but you are expected to contribute a little at the end of the night!

I think this is a great place to check out, even if you don’t think its for you, just give it a try! Its definitely a different way to spend your evening, and you may surprise yourself and enjoy!

1535284483_e12437c27d_z

 

Leave a Reply

